01206 752212

British Guild of Beer Writers Chair steps down

At the Guild’s AGM, held this Wednesday (27 June), Tim Hampson stepped down after exactly 12 years as the organisation’s Chair.

Tierney-Jones and Hampson

Addressing the 30+ members assembled for the meeting, Hampson reflected on his years in the role.  “The Guild has moved from being a club to a more professional organisation,” he said. “When I took on the role, my priority was to put the Guild on a more stable financial footing and I’m delighted that, thanks to our Treasurer Paul Nunny, we have now achieved that.  This allows us to offer far more to our members  in the way of seminars, events and training.”

He continued, “I am especially proud of our Annual Awards and Dinner, which has become one of the highlights of the drinks industry calendar.”

Members extended their heartfelt thanks to Tim for his unstinting dedication to the Guild, which during his tenure has been transformed into the thriving organisation it is today.  The Guild’s individual membership has passed 300 for the first time, thanks in large part to membership secretary Matthew Curtis.

Former Secretary of the Guild and current Beer Writer of the Year Adrian Tierney-Jones spoke fondly about the decade he worked alongside Hampson, before presenting him with a bottle of Bass King’s Ale 1902 and an engraved tankard on behalf of the Guild.