01206 752212

BBPA 2015 Awards

Awards for Hogs Back Brewery, The Co-op, Timothy Taylor’s Charles Dent, and Andrew Griffiths MP, have been revealed at the British Beer & Pub Association’s Annual Dinner in London, showcasing some truly great innovations and achievements at the BBPA’s annual celebration of Britain’s beer and pub industry.

The winners triumphed in four categories; Grain to Glass, Off-trade retailer, Corporate Contribution award, and the Chairman’s award, and were presented with their awards by BBPA Chairman Jonathan Neame.

Hogs Back Brewery, Farnham, Hampshire.

Grain to Glass award winner: Hogs Back Brewery

Hogs Back scooped the award for their astonishing new hop garden at the brewery in Tongham, Surrey. The entry showed real innovation and a community focused approach, involving local people, highlighting the integrity of the product, and generating considerable interest in beer and how it is made.

The category saw a large number of very strong entrants, so a ‘highly commended’ was also awarded, to PEL Waste Reduction Equipment, which enables pubs to significantly reduce the cost of, and space occupied by, their existing waste management solutions.

Off-trade retailer award winner: the Co-op

Beer retail in the off trade has undergone dramatic changes in recent years and this category saw some very strong entrants. The Co-op won by involving all of their stores in a new initiative to promote the sale of regional ales. The results are already clear, with a 22 per cent uplift in sales since March. Each store has a designated “local champion” which the judges felt showed a real commitment to the beer category.

Corporate contribution award: Charles Dent

Charles Dent, Chairman and former Managing Director of Timothy Taylor & Co, won the award for his impressive level of commitment to excellence, foresight, leadership and calculated risk-taking that have contributed to undoubted and sustained growth for the company.

Chairman’s Award 2014: Andrew Griffiths MP

Andrew Griffiths MP received the BBPA Chairman’s award. He led the campaign in Parliament to remove the beer duty escalator, making the case to the Chancellor for three historic beer duty cuts. He has worked hard for a better deal on business rates for pubs, and fought back against HMRC proposals for costly tax stamps saving the brewing industry millions of pounds in the process.

BBPA Chief Executive Brigid Simmonds comments: “Huge congratulations to all our worthy winners and a big thank you to all our entrants this year for highlighting the continued achievements of our industry.”